• Image of Nepal - Drift (SEQ009)
  • Image of Nepal - Drift (SEQ009)

Nepal - Drift (SEQ009)

Label: Sequencias

Format: 12"

A. Glow (13:20)
AA. Rebuild (10:57)

And here we are, just as promised, exploring the dark corners of Nick Lapien; the man otherwise known as Metropolis. This time around, he comes back with a pair of extended cuts that veer off into heretofore unexplored terrain, relishing in detail with a sharp focus on momentum and lyricism. "Glow," the A side, uses a basic 2-note sine wave bass line and a 136 BPM kick as the backdrop for a 13+ minute descent into a thicket of static and clattering modular craftiness—a pathway into the unknown through auditory hypnosis. On the flip side, "Rebuild," a milder 4/4 beauty, uses a soft bass riff for its duration as shuffling synth experimentation stretches the stereo field. A long trumpet solo by Mark Nieuwenhuis casts a soothing, mournful light into the piece. Immerse yourself into the sounds and let yourself be guided, let yourself be found.

New item / ships out daily.

Release date: December 2013.